Welcome!

yrnWelcome to Knitting & Giving! My name is Jessica and I started this informal charity group to help bring warmth, love, and hope to anyone in need in the United States and abroad. I live in Connecticut with my husband and children and knit every day. My love of knitting led me to begin searching for ways to give to those in need. Searching online, and locally, I have found many groups calling out for knit and crocheted items for newborns, the homeless, the elderly, our servicemen and women serving abroad, the ill, and those going through difficult times.

Knitting & Giving has been established in order to bring warmth and comfort to those in need. Please consider donating your knit and crocheted items to Knitting & Giving.

When you send in your knit and crocheted items I will carefully wash, package, and tag each item and then mail or hand deliver the items to the group in need. I will keep this blog updated with photos of donations and for calls for items needed.

I truly hope that Knitting & Giving will help many, many in need!

Since summer is upon us, and the need for warm items has lessened, we will be stockpiling items and begin deliveries in early September.

I received a wonderful email this morning from the local hospital. They are looking for donations of the following items:

*Knit caps for patients going through chemo

*Blankets for newborns

*Warm socks, mittens, and lapghans for the elderly

Let’s set our first goal to donate 200 items to them! We can do it!

On the sidebar of this blog, I will post links to free charity knitting patterns and an updated total of items donated for each cause.

Our P.O. Box will be established within the next week. If you have a donation ready that you would like to mail in please email me at KnittingGiving@hotmail.com and I will give you my mailing address.

I look forward to getting to know all of you!

~ Jessica

Leave a Reply

